top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureLindsey Russell

What does a "bridal look" even mean?

Spoiler alert to this entire post but...a bridal look doesn't mean anything. That's what I've learned as a makeup artist. When I first started doing makeup for strangers, I believed that there's a certain makeup look for every occasion. Work means natural and neutral, a night out means smokey or sparkly, summertime calls for gold and bronze and winter calls for cooler grays and taupes. And a wedding always called for "bridal makeup". A shimmery lid, some definition in the crease, bold lashes and a rosy lip. It's classic. And classic is okay. Classic is wonderful. However, the true definition of bridal makeup is what makes the BRIDE feel beautiful! So why am I even saying all this? Because I often get asked for a "bridal look" when doing makeup for brides, and I'm left with a bunch of question marks that make it impossible to understand your goals for your day and connect with you on an intimate level to bring what you imagine to life. Even for my own wedding, I played around for many nights with a classic bridal color palette and softness until I finally realized this look just isn't ME. So now I'm rolling with a golden-bronze smokey eye and vampy lips because that's what makes me feel like myself and feel beautiful. So with that being said, these two beauties are a prime example of bridal makeup, because they're n o t h i n g a l i k e ...she's got RANGE!

This bride gave me full creative freedom when creating her makeup look (I admire her for having that level of trust). I decided to do a "hollywood glam" inspired look to give her a little "oomph". She doesn't wear much makeup day-to-day, so full glam may have been out of her comfort zone, but I wanted her to feel feminine and amped up compared to her normal. We found this happy medium. We kept her lids bright and added a smokiness to the outer "V" that elongated her eyes into a very soft cat-eye effect, making them appear flirty. We focused on well-balanced color, plump, and glowing skin and I think we hit the nail on the head. She is radiant. We finished with a berry lip to bring more color and warmth into her face.

This photo is from a trial run. I probably don't need to point this out, but this bride has a facial structure carved out by the angels. So for that reason, we focused this look on precise contouring and bronzing. She wanted to get as contoured as possible without looking fake or dirty. Her favorite word this session was "more!" That's the beauty of makeup. You can keep adding more and more, and you can wipe off what you don't like and start again. She wanted a smokey with warm colors, so we used a golden palette and I focused on keeping everything soft (except her beloved winged eyeliner) since we were using darker lid colors. We finished originally with a deep neutral lip, but ultimately decided to bring more color and lightness to the look with a pink.


Wanna be my first bride that does a rainbow eye for their wedding? I'll give a discount ;)

18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentários


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page